Legislative Internship
HomeAcademicsCoursesInternships › Legislative Internship FaceBookTwitterYouTube

Educational Objectives

The internship gives students the opportunity to observe and participate in the Iowa legislative process by assigning them to work for a member of the Iowa General Assembly during the legislative session. The experience allows them to observe the legislative process and better understand the function of parties, leadership, committees, and other significant aspects of lawmaking. The experience lets them appreciate the role of legal advice and lawyers in legislative drafting. Before beginning the internship, each student receives a memo detailing the educational activities expected to occur during the internship. A similar letter is given to each supervising legislator.

Faculty Supervisor

Julie Smith, Director of the Legislative Practice Center, supervises the program in conjunction with Professor Neil Hamilton.

Field-Placement Supervisors

Legislators change from year to year based upon student interest. The address for correspondence for all legislators is State Capitol Building, Des Moines, IA 50319. The list of supervisors for Spring 2011 follows:
  • Representative Chuck Isenhart
  • Representative Jo Oldson
  • Representative Rich Anderson, Chair of House Judiciary Committee
  • Senator Merlin Bartz, Assistant Minority Leader
  • Senator Joe Seng, Chair of Senate Agriculture Committee
  • Senator Dennis Black, Chair of Agriculture and Natural Resources Budget Subcommittee
  • House Speaker, Kraig Paulsen
  • Senator Joe Bolkcom, Chair of Senate Ways and Means Committee
  • Senator Jack Hatch, Chair of Health and Human Services Appropriations Subcommittee
  • Senator Bob Dvorsky, Chair of Appropriations
  • Representative Deb Berry
  • Senator Pam Jochum, Chair of Administration and Regulation Appropriations Subcommittee
  • Representative Nick Wagner, Chair of House Local Government Committee
  • Representative Helen Miller
  • Senator David Johnson, Assistant Minority Leader
  • Senator Matt McCoy, Chair of Transportation, Infrastructure and Capitals Appropriations Subcommittee
  • Senator Rob Hogg
  • Senator Amanda Ragan, Chair of Human Resources Committee
  • Representative Chris Hagenow, Chair of Government Oversight Committee
  • Representative Linda Miller, Chair of House Human Resources Committee
  • Senator Swati Dandekar, Chair of Commerce Committee, and Chair of National Women Legislators


Students are required to complete the 2L Legislation Class taught by Professor Neil Hamilton.

Last Modified: 1/26/2012 12:27:00 PM by Megan Flynn