LL.M. and M.J. Faculty
HomeAcademics › LL.M. and M.J. Faculty FaceBookTwitterYouTube
Faculty at Drake Law School are both scholars and experienced lawyers. You will find the professors outstanding, accessible and personally supportive. All Drake Law School faculty teach courses in which LL.M. credits can be earned. Please visit our faculty profiles for a complete list of Drake Law School faculty and their areas of expertise. The following faculty teach specifically in the areas of Business Law, Constitutional Law, Environmental Law, Human Rights and Global Citizenship, and Sustainable Development. 


Hunter Clark

Professor Hunter R. Clark is the author of numerous articles on human rights, foreign investment, and global economic development. A graduate of Harvard College, A.B. 1976, and Harvard Law School, J.D. 1979, Professor Clark is the author of two books: Justice Brennan: The Great Conciliator (1995) and Thurgood Marshall: Warrior at the Bar, Rebel on the Bench (1992).

Jerry Anderson

Professor Jerry L. Anderson, Richard M. and Anita Calkins Distinguished Professor of Law, is co-author of a coursebook, Environmental Law Practice (Carolina Acad. Press, 3d ed. 2010), and numerous articles on environmental law and land use control.  He has represented a variety of clients, from public interest groups to Fortune 500 companies, in environmental litigation.  He is on the board of editors of the Environmental Law Review, an international journal. Professor Anderson received his B.S. with honors from the University of Kansas and his J.D. from Stanford Law School, Order of the Coif.

Neil Hamilton

Professor Neil D. Hamilton is Dwight D. Opperman Chair of Law and director of the Agricultural Law Center at Drake University. He has written extensively on such topics as food democracy, rural lands, intellectual property rights and plant genetics, and sustainable agricultural land tenure. He has lectured or taught in over 20 countries and serves as an informal adviser to U.S Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack. His books include "What Farmers Need to Know About Environmental Law" (1990). Professor Hamilton received his B.S. in Forestry and Economics from Iowa State University in 1976 and his J.D. from the University of Iowa.

Mark Kende

Professor Mark Kende is James Madison Chair in Constitutional Law and director of the Drake Constitutional Law Center, which was endowed by the U.S. Congress on the Bi-Centennial of the U.S. Constitution. Professor Kende has published and lectured extensively, including at Oxford University and the University of Paris-Sorbonne, as well as throughout the United States. He is the author of "Constitutional Rights in Two Worlds: South Africa and the U.S." (Cambridge 2009), and author of the forthcoming book:  "South African Cases and Materials in a Global Context." He received his B.A. cum laude with Honors in the Philosophy major at Yale University and his J.D. from the University of Chicago Law School where he was a member of the law review. He practiced at a civil rights law firm in Chicago with Barack Obama.

David Walker

Professor David S. Walker, Dwight D. Opperman Distinguished Professor of Law, teaches in the area of corporate and business law, including nonprofit organizations. He is active in the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws, has successfully lobbied for the adoption of numerous Uniform Acts in Iowa, and has served on several drafting committees for Uniform Acts, including serving as Chair of the Drafting Committee for the Revised Uniform Limited Liability Company Act. He is also active in the Iowa State Bar’s Business Law Section and serves as a member of the Section Council and the Section’s Legislative Committee.

Matthew Doré

Professor Matthew Doré, a Richard M. and Anita Calkins Distinguished Professor of Law, teaches in the areas of corporate, commercial, and bankruptcy law. He received the Leland Forrest Outstanding Professor award for teaching excellence in 2008. Professor Doré is the author of Vols. 5 & 6 Iowa Practice—Business Organizations (West Publishing), the leading treatise on Iowa business associations law. His most recent article, which covers oppression of minority shareholders in closely held Iowa corporations, will be published in the Fall 2013 issue of the Drake Journal of Agricultural Law. Professor Doré is an active member of the Iowa State Bar Association and former chair of the ISBA’s Business Law Section. He has been actively involved in the drafting and revision of business association and commercial laws for the state of Iowa for many years. Professor Doré received his B.A. with high honors from Rice University and his J.D. with high honors from the University of Texas Law School.

Jonathan Rosenbloom

Jonathan Rosenbloom is an Associate Professor of environmental law, sustainability, and state and local government. Besides law (LL.M. Harvard Law School, J.D. New York Law School, magna cum laude), he studied architecture (B.Arch. and B.F.A. Rhode Island School of Design) and focuses his research on sustainability issues relevant to local governments.  His recent publications include New Day at the Pool: State Pre-emption, Common Pool Resources, and Non-Place Based Municipal Collaborations (Harvard Environmental Law Review, Vol. 36, (2012)), Uncommon Approaches to Commons Problems (Hastings Law Journal, Vol. 64, (2013)), and Defining “Nature” as a Common Pool Resource, in Environmental Law and Contrasting Ideas of Nature: A Constructivist Approach, Keith Hirokawa, ed. (Cambridge Univ. Press, 2013). He currently serves on a number of state and local environmental boards and is chair of central Iowa’s regional economic development, sustainability committee, representing over 4,200 businesses. He was named Drake Law School 2013 Outstanding Professor of the Year.

Last Modified: 7/9/2015 10:46:00 AM by Ann Allen