IP LL.M. and M.J. Co-curriculum
... Intellectual Property Law Center › IP LL.M. and M.J. Co-curriculum FaceBookTwitterYouTube
Students enjoy an active co-curriculum to enhance their classroom experiences. Students are also welcome to participate in the unique first-year trial practicum, the annual Supreme Court Celebration, and pre-arranged visits to the Iowa Supreme Court and the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Iowa, as well as workshops and regular meetings with the Drake intellectual property faculty.
The Intellectual Property Law Society is one of the many longstanding student organizations at the law school. Founded in 1993, the organization seeks to further the understanding and career opportunities of students interested in pursuing careers in intellectual property law. The Drake Entertainment and Sports Law Society also provides law students with a forum to explore the field of entertainment and sports law.
In addition, students can participate in events and projects sponsored by the internationally recognized Agricultural Law Center. Now in more than 30 years of existence, the Center provides opportunities to study how the legal system shapes our food system and influences the ability of the agricultural sector to produce, market and utilize agricultural products. The Center is directed by Professor Neil Hamilton, one of the nation’s leading authorities on agricultural and food law.

In previous years, students have had the opportunity to attend the Dwight D. Opperman Lecture series, which was endowed in 1988 to bring the country’s top jurists and legal scholars to Drake. This series has been an integral part of activities offered by the Constitutional Law Center. Directed by leading comparative constitutional law scholar Professor Mark Kende, the Center is one of only four constitutional law programs established by U.S. Congress and funded by the federal government. Since its inception, 11 U.S. Supreme Court Justices delivered the Opperman Lecture: Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr., the late Chief Justice William H. Rehnquist, the late Justice Harry A. Blackmun, the late Justice Lewis F. Powell, Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, Justice Antonin Scalia, Justice Anthony M. Kennedy, Justice Clarence Thomas, Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Justice Stephen G. Breyer and Justice Samuel A. Alito.

Last Modified: 7/9/2015 10:48:00 AM by Ann Allen